June 27, 2013



July 3 Canada Day Special: Recent releases by Canadian jazz vocalists and instrumentalists, selected by Ron Sweetman. Will include Petr Cancura, Rachel Chantal, Bill Coon, Element Choir, Kellylee Evans, Kobo Town, Terry Promane, Rachet Orchestra, Paul Rushka, Johnny Summers, Don Vickery, Cory Weeds and Dave Young.

July 10 July 10: Jazz and blues recordings made over the years on July 10, presented by Co-Host Ron Steeds.

July 17 Cliff Jackson: Ron Sweetman tells the story of the stride pianist Clifford “Cliff” Jackson [born on July 19, 1902] whose strength and innovative style caused other stride pianists to refer to him as “The Terror”.

July 24 Voices: The voices of jazz and blues singers Billy Boy Arnold, Rachel Chantal, Arthur Big Boy Crudup, Kellylee Evans, Molly Holm, Lorraine Klaasen, Richard Lanham, Cathrine Legardh, Sherri Roberts, Cecile McLorin Salvant, Svetlana Shmulyian & Joan Watson-Jones and jazz instrumentalists Perry Beekman, Christina Braga, Jeff Denson, & Johnny Summers, presented by Ron Sweetman.

July 31 Malcolm Braff: Co-Host Alnoor Allidina presents a program on contemporary Swiss pianist and composer Malcolm Braff. We will hear from his acoustic and electric trios, and his Indian classical / jazz experiments with French trumpeter Erik Truffaz.

August 7 Listen Before You Buy: Recent releases by saxophonists Anthony Braxton, Lou Caimano, Chris Clark, Chris Corstens, Brian Landrus, Dave Liebman, Frank Lozano, Ryan Oliver, Ivo Perelman, Saxopaths, Zoot Sims, UoU, and Frank Wess, reviewed by Ron Sweetman.

August 14 Guelph Jazz Festival: An introduction to some of the many artists who will be playing at the Guelph Jazz Festival between September 5 and September 9.

August 21 Aidian Thomas: In his introductory program, new Co-Host Aidian Thomas presents a survey of his current listening interests, including Josh Abrams, the Gabriel Alegria Afro-Peruvian Sextet, Orrin Evans and Pat Metheny's Orchestrion recording.

August 28 Listen Before You Buy: Recent issues by jazz and blues guitarists Devon Allman, Rory Block, Oli Brown, Django Festival All Stars, Ronnie Earl, Amos Garrett, Lawrence Marshall, PJ Rasmussen, Duke Robillard, John Stein, Bart Walker and Mike Zito.

IN A MELLOW TONE can be heard every Wednesday from 9:00 to 11:00pm at CKCU-FM 93.1.

Stream and view past episodes here: http://cod.ckcufm.com/programs/94/info.html.