June 04, 2009

PLAYLIST for JUNE 10, 2009


Introducing some of the amazing talent who will make this year’s Jazz Festival an unforgettable experience. The festival will include Toshiko Akiyoshi, the Bad Plus, Patricia Barber, Brian Blade,Chris Botti, Michiel Braam, Jane Bunnett, Gary Burton, Benoit Delbecq, Dave Douglas, Al Green,Gypsophilia, Charles Lloyd, Pat Metheny, Monk’s Casino, Amina Claudine Myers, Lenore Raphael,Enrico Rava, Maria Schneider, Wayne Shorter, Esperanza Spalding, John Stetch, Trio M and Chucho Valdes.
Tonight we’ll play twenty-one of these artists.

Artist: John Stetch
Album: T V Trio
Tune: Dallas
Label: Brux

Artist: Monk’s Casino
Album: Monk’s Casino
Tune: Crepuscule With Nellie
Label: Intakt

Artist: Dave Douglas
Album: Soul On Soul
Tune: Aries
Label: RCA

Artist: Toshiko Akiyoshi
Album: Remembering Bud
Tune: Budo
Label: Evidence

Artist: Jane Bunnett
Album: Radio Guantanamo
Tune: Give Me One Dollar
Label: EMI

Artist: Al Green
Album: Lay It Down
Tune: All I Need
Label: Blue Note

Artist: Amina Claudine Myers
Album: Amina
Tune: Nolan
Label: Novus

Artist: Gary Burton
Album: Quartet Live
Tune: Syndrome
Label: Concord

Artist: Maria Schneider
Album: Live at the Jazz Standard
Tune: That Old Black Magic
Label: ArtistShare

Artist: Benoit Delbecq Quintet
Album: Pursuit
Tune: Strange Loop
Label: Songlines

Artist: Esperanza Spalding
Album: Junjo
Tune: Perazuan
Label: Ayva

Artist: Amanda Tosoff Quartet
Album: Still Life
Tune: Peace
Label: Cellar Live

Artist: Wayne Shorter
Album: Footprints Live!
Tune: Go
Label: Verve

Artist: Trio M
Album: Big Picture
Tune: FreeKonomics
Label: Cryptogramophone

Artist: Chucho Valdes
Album: New Conceptions
Tune: Nanu
Label: Blue Note

Artist: Patricia Barber
Album: Companion
Tune: Let It Rain
Label: Blue Note

Artist: Christy Doran’s New Bag
Album: The Competence of the Irregular
Tune: Heitere Gelassenheit
Label: Between the Lines

Artist: Vaillancourt Orr Vaillancourt
Album: Live In The Studio
Tune: Road Song
Label: New Chris

Artist: Trio Braam DeJoode Vatcher
Album: Colors
Tune: Chartreuse
Label: BBB

Artist: Charles Lloyd Quartet
Album: Rabo de Nube
Tune: La Colline de Monk
Label: ECM

Artist: Brian Blade & Fellowship Band
Album: Season of Changes
Tune: Stoner Hill
Label: Verve


“In A Mellow Tone” is on CKCU every Wednesday from 9:00 to 11:00pm

at 93.1FM in Ottawa

and around the world on the Internet at


Earlier playlists can be found at: www.inamellowtone.com