May 27, 2010

PLAYLIST for MAY 30, 2010


Playlist May 30, 2010

[Ron Sweetman sitting in for Jacques Emond]

Program Topic:

RECENT RELEASES: There will be four sets of music this afternoon.
The first set features the alto sax of Hugh O’Connor and Sherman Irby.
The second set focuses on the trumpet of Jeff Healey, Ron Miles and Ian Carr.
In the third set you’ll hear the tenor sax of Ken Peplowski, Pierre Labbe and
Lester Young. We’ll finish with four big bands; Phil Kelly and the Northwest Prevailing Winds, the Big Crazy Energy New York Band, John Vanore & Abstract Truth and Michael Treni.

Artist: Hugh O’Connor
Album: For the First Time
Tune: The Night We Called It A Day
Label: True North

Artist: Sherman Irby Quartet
Album: Live at the Otto Club
Tune: Bohemia After Dark
Label: Black Warrior

Artist: Jeff Healey
Album: Last Call
Tune: Some of These Days
Label: Stony Plain

Artist: 3ology with Ron Miles
Album: 3ology with Ron Miles
Tune: For Don
Label: Tapestry

Artist: Don Rendell Ian Carr Quintet
Album: Live at the Union 1966
Tune: Carolling
Label: Reel

Artist: Ken Peplowski
Album: Noir Blue
Tune: Riverboat Shuffle
Label: Capri

Artist: Pierre Labbe
Album: Manivelle
Tune: Corpus
Label: Ambiances Magnetiques

Artist: Lester Young
Album: 100 Years – Forever Young
Tune: I Cover the Waterfront
Label: Storyville

Artist: Lester Young
Album: 100 Years – Forever Young
Tune: D. B. Blues
Label: Storyville

Artist: Phil Kelly and the Northwest Prevailing Winds
Album: Ballet of the Bouncing Beagles
Tune: B D Bunz
Label: Origin

Artist: Big Crazy Energy New York Band
Album: Inspirations
Tune: Out of the Night
Label: Rosa

Artist: John Vanore & Abstract Truth
Album: Curiosity
Tune: Misdemeanor
Label: Acoustical Concepts

Artist: Michael Treni
Album: Turnaround
Tune: Bone Happy
Label: Bell Production


“Swing is in the Air” is on CKCU every Sunday from 4:00 to 5:30pm

at 93.1FM in Ottawa

and around the world on the Internet at